How Do I Quit This Job Gracefully?

Hi,

I'm so frustrated...I don't know how to leave this job gracefully. It's as much a rant as asking you all how the hell do I get out of this minefield gracefully, with a reference!

I've spent the last seven months at this tiny business as an administrator (I used to be an estate agent; I'm 22) in a really rural location before uni starts in September. My real job seems to be managing the boss, lets call him L. L is a self-confessed ex-addict (drugs, alcohol) and is a very eccentric character. The second-in-command is an amazing woman whose work ethic and professionalism have inspired me, let's call her D. I really look up to D, as it is in my mind that the general running of the business falls to her, she has a lot on her plate in that regard and she makes it work. D is L's ex-wife; we get on very well and I try hard for her.

I find him difficult to deal with. As the months have rolled on, I really, really struggle with this man. I love D, and really want to help her. In the beginning I threw myself into the job, and I received a raise and plenty of praise. But I have no more initiative (the office is for four people; I can't rework anything else or find better prices, etc... I've sort of done it all/burnt out.) and no one will give me jobs, regardless of how much I ask. I've been getting depressed because I like to work, I want to help.

All the while my boss is a very difficult man to deal with. It's started to show on my face, in my tone. I can't keep it together barely, the whole setup is so inefficient and counter intuitive and I hate my interaction with the boss. I used to be in a job where I was relied upon heavily for results/improvement/progress, now I feel like I'm his errand girl/dumping ground/dogsbody.

I received an email from him this morning telling me:

"I find you can be quite defensive often when I ask something of you.