Dumped out of the blue by my fiance of 8 years. Struggling to understand why.

This is my first time posting in a forum online. I am looking for some perspective and understanding about what the hell has happened to me. My family and friends are just as confused as I am.

I am female and turned 31 last week. My ex is 32.

Exactly 100 days ago, I came home from work and my (now ex) fiance of 8 years was sitting at the kitchen table with a glass of water. He usually gets home after me so I was a bit confused. He grabbed my hands and told me to sit down. He started choking up and proceeded to say he couldn't follow through with marrying me and was ending our relationship. He proposed to me just 7 weeks prior and we had just returned from vacation two days prior (WITH HIS PARENTS) to celebrate said engagement. He was rather distant on holiday but I thought he was stressed out about work (as I was - we work in the same industry as professional engineers and it is very stressful). I had no idea what he was actually thinking. While on vacation, we talked about my engagement ring (that was arriving the week after we returned home), our plans for our small wedding, and our plans for kids. He actively participated in these conversations, but I realize now, he seemed to be forcing his answers. Kind of like...cliche robot wedding speak. I can't explain it, but I felt something was off. I had no idea he was planning on dumping me.