Open Club  ·  88 members  ·  Free

Off Topic

Should I get tested for a learning disability?

Guest drpancake

Guest drpancake

Hey, I need some advice. All my life I've struggled with spelling, talking, directions, and I get numbers mixed up a lot. I am great at reading though so I don't think I am dyslexic or anything. I also did well in most things in school. I graduated high school with a 3.74 GPA and am in the honors program as a biology major at my college. Plus I got a 27 on the ACT so it really isn't that I'm dumb. However, I have never once passed a spelling test with more than a C- in my life and autocorrect is a good friend of mine. I also recently got a D in zoology and am having to retake it for them taking off for spelling errors on test though the teacher felt bad and said it was clear I knew the material. No matter how much I study words I get the letters mixed up or forget some. It is the same with numbers too. I just get them jumbled in my head sometimes so it takes longer in math. Though if I take my time and am careful I do well in math. Then when giving directions often I point in the direction I mean and say the wrong one without realizing it. This really pisses off my girlfriend and she thinks I'm messing with her but I don't mean to. Then when I talk sometimes I stutter or can't say a word even though I think it. I also get excited and forget to say key words in a sentence so what I say sounds like a jumbled mess. It is better than when I was little because I did this more then and refused to speak for the longest time after getting made fun of. I really try to be normal though. I've never been tested for a learning disability as it was too expensive. However, my girlfriend thinks there might be something wrong with me. I just always thought it was simply stuff I wasn't good at and needed to work more than other people at. She thinks I should get tested but I think it is unnecessary. I've learned to cope and having someone say something is wr