Miscommunication need advice

tyra17

I recently posted a similar question as a reply in a different forum and got no responses, so I'll try over here.

Long story short, I've been seeing an awesome guy for three months. I adore him and he's told me he adores me as well. Things started slow (5 dates before first kiss) and then became quite passionate and affectionate.

I'm new to his town, have only lived here for six months, so a few weeks ago took a trip back home to see my friends and family.

Upon my return, our first meeting was at his ballgame. I came straight from the airport to see him there. I brought along my cousin for moral support because I felt really shy about going to a busy tournament and finding him in the crowd on my own, and also knew this would be a first meeting with a lot of his friends. I felt nervous and way overdressed and really out of my element.

When he fist saw me, he didn't come over right away and I guess I misinterpreted this as well. He hugged me and said I gave him a side hug and that when he tried to kiss me I turned away. This may indeed be true. He said after that the whole afternoon felt really awkward and he wished I would just leave because he couldn't concentrate.

But here's thing. He never told me this for two weeks. Later that night after the game I stayed over at his place and things were very affectionate and I thought, totally normal. But he said to me weeks later that the fact I had, in his perception, snubbed him in public, in front of his friends, and then been affectionate with him behind closed doors was basically a horrid feeling for him.

So, during the two weeks I thought things were just fine between us, he took me to meet his mother and sisters, we had lots of sleepovers, cooked dinners together and basically did fun things, went on dates and hung out almost every day and night. These were almost all things he initiated or invited me to.