LinkedIn share
Google plus share
Twitter plus share
Give Advice
Ask For Advice
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Job Search is Causing Depression

Job Search is Causing Depression

I moved to another state at the beginning of January this year, and I have been searching for a job in my new location ever since. Every day, I apply for numerous jobs and painstakingly tailor my cover letter for each company and position. Every email that I get in return almost says the same thing: "Unfortunately, you are not the right fit for this position at this time." When I open these emails, I feel so hopeless and even worse about myself. I have received so many of these. I've also attended around 5 interviews, and have had no luck. I always dress professionally and I always prepare myself the night before an interview by reading through common interview questions, and how to respond to them. I graduated with a Bachelor's degree about two years ago and I'm in a ton of student loan debt that's stressing me out. I also have several years of experience under my belt. I feel like I have completely wasted five years of my life by going to school, especially when I cannot seem to find work. The interest rates on my loans are high and I feel like the debt is piling up uncontrollably even though I make payments every month. I'm getting to a point where I'm starting to feel hopeless, completely worthless, and even sometimes suicidal. Has anyone here gone through a similar situation? What should I do to turn things around? Are there any resources out there that might help someone like me find a job? Even the temp agency here in town isn't helping and I'm not sure what to do =/