Facebook share
LinkedIn share
Google plus share
Twitter plus share
Give Advice
Ask For Advice
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Money in a long term relationship?

Money in a long term relationship?

Sorry I didn't know what to call this or really what section to post in. I've just stumbled upon this site when googling for advice and I hope you could help me.
    I'll try and keep it as short as possible.

My partner and I have been together for 4 years living together for 3 of those and we are the same age 35. I am a surgeon (Doctor) and my girlfriend was a Sales rep for a large firm but unfortunately got made redundant at the end of August 2016. Since which time she has been unemployed and searching for work. with the exception of a few temping roles here at there from agencies but these tend to be week long roles to cover sickness.

My girlfriend is in debt, she helped out a family member who had got themselves into an awful financial state a while ago, back when she was working and the loan repayment was perfectly manageable for her.

I make good money (sorry if that sounds braggy, that is not my intention) but I like to be careful with my spending. My girlfriend currently has very little income from just occasional temping roles. She is trying very hard to get a job, she would happily to anything, from waiting tables, to office work excreta but she is having a really hard time find full time permanent work.

Up to this point we have kept our money separate, we take it in turns to pay for meals/weekends away and split the household bills equally.