Job hunting timeline

Good evening ENA!

I wanted to get some input on what an appropriate timeline is for applying to jobs.

I'm looking to start mid-June so 3 months from now. I'm a grad student with work experience so I'm not necessarily targeting entry level jobs but rather the types of jobs posted on corporate job boards.

I understand that those roles are posted because they need to fill them, but I also know that companies are a bit slow with the hiring process typically.

I have been applying for a few months now without much luck but it's starting to pick up now. I'm nervous because I graduate in 2 months. My question basically boils down to this: am I applying too early, and that explains my lack of success? Has my timing been right and possibly my resume is terrible? Am I about now entering the sweet spot for summer employment?

Thank you this is literally haunting my dreams, so some more opinions will help me either way.

No, I don't think you are applying too early. Lots of people I know starting applying 6 months before graduation. Most places, if you got the job, understand you might need some time to graduate. But usually, myself included, it took many months to find a job in our respective fields.

I've been applying since November. By my estimates I've applied to over 200 jobs. About a month ago I had an interview and I had a different interview last week, so I feel like progress is being made. A few internal recruiters (i.e. internal to the company I apply to) have responded, which is promising (they rarely seem to respond). One even told me I'm overqualified.

Argh. It's stressing me out so much. I went to grad school to buy me time after I got laid off. My classmates are all getting jobs and I'm not having luck.

ETA: is it possible I could be kicked from the online system due to my intended start date? I'm applying to jobs that have literally hundreds of applicants, so they can be picky.