Cant be happy for myself...

Pinkerton

I have been working on myself for a while now, and have built myself up to a point where I'm finally working in a decently paying job that aligns with my field of expertise... I'm an artist, and for the past month I've been working at a "Drink and Paint" franchise where you guide people step by step through painting. It's supposed to be fun and I'm supposed to be happy.... but I can't seem to get there. Work doesn't even go badly or is particularly stressful, it just takes a lot out of me to do it. Some days are fine and I feel like a shining star about it, but some days I am completely distraught with panic attacks either before or after I have to go into work.

My friend says I get this "imposter syndrome" where I suddenly don't believe in myself or my ability to do a good job at work. It's kind of true. That belief racks me with anxiety... and then I start getting mad because I have anxiety in the first place. I get so down on myself, like "why me? why am I broken? why do i feel this way? why can't I control it?" I get so mad about the controlling part. All I want is to feel like a normal person and not have a break down every time I go into work, or do anything slightly uncomfortable. It gets me to a very low and dark place, and sometimes I even get suicidal ideation... "I am a broken person and will always be broken, so what's the point?" The panic attacks are so severe that I will be mentally and physically effected by it for days afterwards (hypervigilant, disassociated, fight or flight feelings) and I'm just so frustrated about it, I don't know what to do. People say I'm too hard on myself but I think I have it too easy. I just get so mad that I can't function like other people appear to. I just want to be happy and enjoy my work, because it does play on all my strengths! I want to get to a place where I can relax and feel comfortable.