Will There Often Be "Competition"?

SkyBlue98

I'm an 18 yr old girl, currently a college student, and I really like my instructor, who's in his 40s. Just to reassure everyone, I would never make a move or anything while he was my teacher. I sort of assumed I was probably the only girl who really liked him as he's a lot older and we're all in our late teens/early twenties. But the other day in class another girl admitted that she really likes him too.

I guess I was sort of surprised because I always assumed it was fairly rare for other girls my age to like older guys. And I have no experience with dating, so it made me wonder: with most "good" guys, will there be a lot of girls interested in them? I hate the idea of girls "competing" for a guy, I think it's so stupid and catty, but is that the reality? I also feel a little insecure about myself- I'm pretty, but I don't really do my hair or makeup like other girls. I guess it stresses me out, feeling like guys I'm interested in might be comparing me to other girls.

Thoughts?

I guess I was sort of surprised because I always assumed it was fairly rare for other girls my age to like older guys.
I'm dead.

Yes, if you want an older man in a position of authority, you'll be competing with a pretty much every 18 - 22 year old and potentially their mothers. It's definitely not a refined taste for young women your age.

As far as the game of dating goes, you can either see it as competing against others or simply improving yourself for the sake of your own contentment, which will likewise increase your marketability.

Also bear in mind you'd like to relieve yourself of competition while not doing your hair and makeup "like other girls," yet I'm not seeing you crushing on an average looking guy with jeans that are a bit too baggy. Which is fine. Just gotta keep certain things like that in mind when establishing your perspective.