Did I push him away or is he a Player/Emotionally Unavailable?

Howdy!

I'm Alex and I'm new to relationships. I'm quite shy and suffer from mild depression. I thought I would give online dating a whirl as I want to get comfortable meeting new people and improve my social life. I've always suspected I'm bi/gay. I'm 28, but look more like 20. I tend to find guys around 18 - 24 particularly attractive. Anyone above 25 doesn't do it for me (even though I know that seems shallow).

After being rejected via text with the first guy I met (we both seemed very different people), this other guy (we'll call him Jun Binks) wanted to exchange numbers with me and we spoke over text. He closed his OnlyLads account, but kept his Match.com profile open. He seemed incredible. Was very sweet, fun, handsome, had similar ideals (e.g: not into clubbing, doesn't smoke), his pictures gave the impression he's passionate, ambitious and likes visiting places. We seemed to have lots in common. We texted everyday and connected so well. He's 22.

At the beginning, he came on strong; he'd do most of the initiating sending me good morning texts, wanting to know so much about me and saying things like 'cutie/sweetie'. We added XX's at the end of our texts and spent nights chatting about sex. Interestingly, couldn't help but feel he was trying to be too much like me and I did get a little suspicious. He seemed so into me and was convinced we should be boyfriends. He did say we couldn't meet until late Sept (was late August) due to him apparently being short on money. But come Sept 5th, he decided to meet up with me in Birmingham after his work shift finished. We both live close to the city and don't drive.