Moving In Together -Advice

MsCodeMonkey

I've been dating my boyfriend what will be 2 years in March, and we've decided to move in together when my lease is up in April. I'm excited, but I'm also really nervous. I lived with family until about 3 years ago, and I've been on my own the last several years which has been lovely. This is my first time that I'll be living with non family other than friends who temporarily couch surfed and boyfriends of my mother.

Our plan is to get a 3 bedroom with an open kitchen and a yard. He'll take the master bedroom which will need to have enough room for a king sized bed and a computer desk. I'll take the other two rooms. One will have my bed and clothes and the other will have my collection of board games and books and a love seat with a tv and video game hook ups. We'll split all major bills directly down the middle, and I'm actually not too worried about chores and such cause I know he'll pull his weight. We've talked about furniture we'll need, temperature, and lawn maintenance. Also, he wants to get a dog(Corgi) and I have 2 cats. The dog will be his responsibility though I'll help of course and the cats are mine.

But here's the questions:

1. How should we handle things like groceries and household stuff? Split it down the middle? Each get what we want? Have money in a jar for stuff like toilet paper and cleaning supplies and do one of the two for food?

2.Are there any potential issues we should talk about before April that I'm not aware of?

This is new territory for me, and despite our many differences I think we will be happy living together(or I wouldn't do it), and I love him.

What me and my husband do is we both have seperate bank accounts, then we have a joint account where we both agreed how much we'd each put in a month based on our incomes. So he earns more so he puts in more. Then all the bills/groceries go out of that joint account and whatever is left in our accounts after paying into the joint is our own.