Family Rift because of Trump - PLEASE help.

leseine7

I have been a longtime supporter of the LGBT community, have many close friends who are from different backgrounds, religions, races. I am an advocate for pro-choice, women's rights and speaking up for these issues. I've fought, my whole life, for better awareness for climate change and actions to take to help save our planet and everything living upon it. So, before I begin, this thread is NOT about these issues or Trump's presidency, it is just to give background. So please don't hijack the thread into a political discussion.

My family on my mothers' side are extremely conservative, believe homosexuality is a sin, clump ALL Muslim's into "ISIS" category and are belligerently opposed to anyone they decide is "A Liberal."

So, I made a post on my Facebook page in support of one movement the other day, which was intended to lend support to my Muslim friends, for whom I am deeply concerned at this time for many reasons. The family members in question ripped me a new one, claiming that I was expressing "fake news" and even going on to say that it's a good thing Trump is taking care of the problem, because Muslims are terrorists, and many other horrible, cruel statements I could hardly believe were being posted in response to my initial post, which was merely drawing awareness to something that was happening to people i know.