Was I wrong to end it so suddenly?

lumeninecent

So this is kinda complicated, and I just need someone to talk to. For reference he's 24 and I'm 22.

I was with this guy for 8 months. I thought I was happy and in bliss, my friends hated him and my family didn't approve. He is a low-brow comedian and performs in comedy clubs with an offensive or "edgy" style of humor. He is kinda a jerk and stand-offish at first, which was the reason for their disapproval. I ignored it because I knew him and he didn't really think the way people thought he did (he didn't believe what he says in these comedy shows as truth).

Around december I went through something very traumatic at work, it was a dangerous accident where no one was hurt (I'm a social worker) I won't go into detail, but I'm currently taking time off to treat PTSD associated with the event. Since I supported what he does, I guess he thought I would "take a joke" although I made it clear I do not want to associate with it (I don't want to hear the jokes but support his dreams).

Last week, he pulled a prank on me, by getting his friend to pretend to break in in my home with a mask on. And I won't go into too much detail with the "prank" but I'm sure anyone with PTSD can imagine how I feel. After that I called him furious and upset and ended the relationship. He said that he "thought I wasn't like other girls" and "could take a joke". He said the joke was his friend's idea who is worse than him. He then started to cry and say he was sorry and didn't think it would make me so mad. But in my defense, if someone doesn't respect my mental health or my well being, why should I be with them.