BF & his work schedule! Is his job is dominating our relationship?

Pretzel

Hi all,

I've been wondering this more and more each day so I thought it's about time I post on here and put it out to you guys to tell me what you think.

I'm in a relationship, it's early days but it feels like it's longer than it has been because it's been so solid and balanced and just generally fantastic up until this point. But it's been 4 months. He's 30 and I'm 27.

I'm quite new to the proper relationship thing- my last relationship was very, very long, but awfully toxic. It felt more like a pseudo relationship, my ex was emotionally volatile and controlling at times, so I was basically not in a normal situation and very much used to always tip-toeing around his conveniences.

Having been in this new relationship, I have come to realise that a lot of what I was accustomed to wasn't normal. I now realise more and more that having needs and preferences and wanting compromise isn't too much to ask for (but for my ex, it was, apparently!)

So now I wondering if I'm allowed to say something to my current boyfriend about his work schedule. I've noticed that in recent weeks it's come to dominate our relationship, and i feel I'm losing him to his job somewhat. In some ways, his situation isn't a surprise to me, I was well aware from the outset he takes his job very seriously, and I do respect that. He had an intense work schedule right from the beginning of when I met him, said that work can be crazy at times when he is handed over a big client. But on our first few dates, I didn't think of this as something that could bother me because there wasn't an expectation to see him frequently at that point, and also there was a lot of excitement leading up to the dates. And on the dates we both just had a great time and would text about it for days after and leading up to our next meet-up.