Wanting to work out multiple times a day?

Hey everyone,

I recently jumped back on the train and have really been dedicating myself to a good diet and consistent exercise. I went to the gym this afternoon and did a nice 30 minute cardio work out. Im new to the gym again and didn't want to overdo it. I only starting breaking a sweat in the last 5-10 minutes of what I would consider an appropriate workout, and now I want to go back again... I'm bored at home and I just feel the need to work out again. Do you recommend it? or should I just increase the intensity of my work outs moving forward? I havent been on a treadmill in almost a year and I got a flood of confidence and energy and my brain wanted me to run... but I knew that it wasn't a good idea since I'm completely out of shape again... its just hard to fight the instinct.

Muscle recovery is an essential part of your fitness routine.

Try a routine that is 30 minutes of cardio + strength training, 3 days a week. On the in between days, try 60 minutes of cardio.

Day 7 = rest day.

Given your post, me recommendation is to start that routine now, using low intensity cardio and lighter weights with more reps. After two weeks, increase your levels. Hold new levels for two weeks, then increase again.

Depends how heavy your cardio workouts are. Generally speaking, your body's pretty good at telling you when you've gotten a good fix of physical activity in. There's nothing wrong with a casual jog or walk on the treradmill in both the morning and the evening. HITT would be a different story, though. When I'm training, I actually use ITIC's model almost exact. I also never walk or jog for cardio, though. I prefer high intensity and the 30 minutes are plenty.