Ask For Advice
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Just graduated university and kind of lost on what is next?

gianno
    Bronze Member

Just graduated university and kind of lost on what is next?

Just graduated university with a degree in psychology with a focus on mental health
    Don't know what I want to do with my life ( I really wanted to do law school but haven't taken the lsat yet but I have the means for this career path)
    My main goal right now though is finding a job preferably in my field but for now anything
    I have large amount of loans to payback as well as pay for my rent and other expenses
    Kind of worried how I will be able to afford to live
    My job experience is limited to family run businesses, therefore limited number of viable references
    I'm willing to work any job especially right now even two if I have too, but how do I market myself effectively?
    How do I get employers to take a chance on me even though I have limited experience I have great work ethic and determination to learn anything
    Any tips on my situation would be greatly appreciated.

mustlovedogs
    From what I understand, you can't do much in psych without a PhD or an MD. You may want to
    Consider grad school.

3. Thanks gianno thanked for this post
    gianno
    Bronze Member
    Quote Originally Posted by mustlovedogs [Register to see the link]
    From what I understand, you can't do much in psych without a PhD or an MD. You may want to
    Consider grad school.
    I have definitely thought about it, I have the GPA to do it, it mainly rests on finding some experience in labs or research now to cement a career move like that one. But what I am most concerned about right now is finding any job really and paying my bills before thinking about grad school or law school

Almira23
    Law school is great and all, but depending on your area, without much experience in the law field you won't be able to find a job in a law firm.