Brother issues

Kyoko74

I apologize for the long read. I have been bottling this up for 18 years and just now I feel it's come to a head. Anonymous bits of advice with honest words is a good start I guess.

A bit of backstory. My brother was the firstborn in a traditional Japanese family. He had been coddled and spoiled since birth, as this happens in many families - firstborn child, a son at that. He excelled academically, but was never taught how to work his way through life. Granted, there was an enormous amount of pressure placed on him as my parents stressed good grades. He graduated high school with honours and then immediately went to university. Lived on campus and had his tuition/textbooks/living expenses/rent on our parents' dime. Dad even took out a second mortgage to pay his way through to at least his Bachelors. Folks were extremely proud of him, and with good reason. In contrast, I was denied help and was told, almost in a chiding way, that I would amount to nothing as 1) I was the younger sibling, 2) a girl, and 3) nowhere near as smart as my brother. Be that as it may, this kind of behavior is very common in traditional families and I really didn't think much of it, just lived through it. We weren't starving, we had a roof over our heads, and aside from the constant comparisons between the two siblings, there wasn't much to complain about.

Because my brother hadn't been taught the value of a dollar, he felt the money would be a neverending fountain. "The Bank of Mom and Dad" I resentfully called it. Every time he needed money, mom or dad would be writing a cheque but they weren't happy about it. I had told him that, but he just shrugged and said he needed the money badly, for recreational activities like gaming and keggers.