Argument with boss

Fesfas

I'll try to keep this as short as possible. I haven't posted before but I would really like some honest impartial opinions.

I work in a warehouse and recently they (management) have been moving workers from team to team in order to handle the workload in the various departments. Today I was transferred from my usual department to work in the barcode scanning section. It was only my second time ever working in that section. I was issued a barcode scanner at the beginning of my shift. About an hour into my shift my scanner stopped working completely. I tried several times to get it working again but was unable to remember the password to log into the warehouse wireless network. So I went up to my supervisor and asked her for help. As I was standing there talking to her the department foreman came over to me and told me in quite an angry tone that I had just blinded him with the barcode laser him because I had been holding the scanner horizontally in my efforts to try to fix it (something which apparently you're not supposed to do, although nobody told me this). He was quite rude in my opinion, and I have to admit that I was quite shocked since the foremen at my workplace are usually quite understanding and sympathetic if you're a beginner in a certain task.

I sort of froze for a minute, but quickly collected myself and apologized for the mistake. I told him that I didn't know you're not supposed to hold the scanner horizontally and that I certainly didn't do it on purpose. He responded that "well now you know" and said in a very sarcastically aggressive tone "thanks so much for blinding me", and he walked away.