My family has disowned my son & I. How do I get past this?

angelhair

This is my first time to post, I really hope reaching out will help me to move on from my family disowning us and help me release this guilt/doubt I feel everyday. I got married to another woman about 6 months, she is amazing and my 4 year old adores her! My whole family disowned me and my son, I knew they would disown me but I never dreamed they would turn their backs on my son who hasn't done a thing. Everyday I think about my son losing the opportunity to grow up with his family. I know that it's their lost but it is also my sons lost too. I just want to be able to put this behind me and not have all these different thoughts replaying in my head day after day. Any advice?

your boy is better off not living with a family as backwards as that. i assume if they tyrannize people for who they love, they do it for a lot of other things too. i can't imagine he'd be growing up without unhealthy expectations and demands around them.

he will grow up with two caring ladies who love him. and learn early about the importance of sticking together and not conditioning the love you have for one another with rigid inhumane beliefs.

it will be tough at times. but if the three of you are a loving family, you'll do just fine.

i'm sorry you went through that.

eta: is there family on your wife's side who support you? good friends?

Thank goodness they got rid of that guy's hate post!

I'm sorry your family disowned you. I really am, because your parents give you power. The only thing you can do is lean on your wife's family and your wife to be your and your kid's family. After things settle down, I'd write them a letter, include photos, and just express that you miss them, or that your kid really would like a relationship with them regardless of how they feel about your marriage. And it's okay if they don't write back right away. It can take a lot of time to process things.

Hugs!!!