Feeling like a mess.. and I don't know why. Getting worse with each day.

FrozenMoon

Okay, so I am at a loss for what to do at this point.. I'm not sure if I can explain what's going on, but I'll try.

So first of all, my current situation.. Well, it's actually great!

I am a first year student at university. I have some great friends, recently also met lots of new people, my days are full of productivity, I always have something to do, I have short AND long term life goals -- long story short, all is well.

.. Or it should be. But for some reason, it isn't.

And what is the problem? To be fair, I honestly don't know. All I know is the results I'm experiencing, and that it's making me sad to the point of crying day after day.

One thing I've been experiencing is a terrible case of longing for the past. Despite the fact my situation now is exactly the way I want it, I keep being reminded of how things were x years ago.. and then suddenly, I miss everything.

I miss the people I talked with. I miss the hobbies I had, the things I did. I miss the music I listened to, the places I've been, and heck, even the school I went to, the way my room looked, the way I was as a person! I miss every single bit about the past, and for some reason it hurts. A lot.

There have been moments I pushed it away, there have been moments I gave in to it and tried getting parts of that past back (like the music or the hobbies) but that would only serve to make me feel empty about it. Like I'd be desperately chasing a ghost of something long gone. Whenever I sat down with that same book, listened to that same music, I couldn't enjoy it. Not one bit.