Colleague spreading very serious rumors

I wasn't sure where the appropriate forum to post about this is, but I will try to get straight to the point.

I'm in the process of finishing my graduate work in engineering, I am the only female in my area and am surrounded by 15 men in the lab I work. This will be important later, but I am also very happily married. My husband and I are in a very secure partnership where we trust each other to have respectful friendships with people of the opposite sex.

I've been working in this lab for about 5 years now. Maybe 3 years ago or so, a student (lets call him Matt) from Europe (My husband and I are also from Europe) joined our group. We befriended each other because of our common backgrounds and interest in running and started going on runs together about 3 times per week during lunch. My husband also met Matt and really liked him and everything was great. Well, that is until one of our lab mates, Jack, started spreading rumors that Matt and I were sleeping together (this should go unsaid, but there was nothing inappropriate going on between Matt and I). I didn't find out about it until another co worker drunkenly started talking about it at a lab event in front of everyone, including my husband.

After that, I decided to confront Jack. He profusely apologized for starting the rumors and told me this would never happen again. At this point though the damage had already been done-- my friend Matt was giving me the cold shoulder and I decided to respect his decision. Essentially the friendship I had with Matt dissolved and we now hardly speak.

As a side note, our lab environment is very social. Everyone (except myself) partakes in hobbies together and the guys often partner up and go to the gym/run/rock climb, etc.