My husband and I have been married for about 6 months and living together for almost 2 years and I just don't know how to change my thinking from my money and his money to 'our money'. I was 29 when we started seeing each other (long distance) and almost 30 when he moved in. To my house. That I bought and had been paying off on my own for almost 2 years when he moved in. I'm a teacher so I earn a decent income and have been completely financially independent since I was 24. I also earn more than my husband, which isn't an issue, but I'm 31 and hubby is only 22 so I've been managing my personal finances for a lot longer than he has and currently also manage our household money and bills because to be honest, he wouldn't have a clue. Currently I'm splitting the bills and household expenses and he is giving me his share of the money towards them like we've done since he got a job once he moved here. But now that we're married it feels weird, like he's paying me board or something and think a joint account would make so much more sense but then when he buys something stupid like a video game or spends a ridiculous amount of money on in app purchases on a phone app I just think ugh I do NOT want my hard earned money being spent on that crap. I honestly don't know what to do 😕

Have a joint account for expenses and bills and two discretionary accounts, one for each person for the " fun" stuff. You each provide your own "fun" money.

Personally ,we put our money together. There is no "my "money. There is no set in stone way for people to do finances.