Dealing with difficult co worker, advice please

AmyeMae

Since graduating from college, I've been working for a few years now and I've never been in this situation before. I'm not sure how best to handle it. I was hoping someone with more experience would be able to give me some advice

We all have our difficult co-workers but mine is bullying me. She's very hard to get along with and she does have a poor reputation in our department. I've been told by others that people can't work with her. She has been reported before by other people on her team.

The way that she talks to me is so rude and so unkind. On more than one occasion she's yelled at me and I've ended up crying in the bathroom. I won't go into details about it but my question is, can I talk to my manager about her behavior towards me? I don't want to seem as if I'm complaining or that I can't get along well with others, etc.

I'm still pretty new to my field and she's a lot more experienced than I am. Can I say anything or should I continue to suck it up and just put up with it?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Of course you can talk to your manager. I had a boss like this once. I sympathize.

If I were you I would start logging every instance of her being rude to you, and show that to your manager. One isolated incident might not seem like a big deal to management, but if you log it all and management can see several instances, it's more likely to make an impact.

Is she a superior or at the same level as you?

If she's just a coworker and holds no power over you, have you considered directly speaking to her about this? For example, when she's yelling at you, would you be able to say that you don't want to be spoken to that way? Or, ask her if there's a problem between the two of you that you're unaware of. Sometimes that's very disarming for bullying people.