Open Club  ·  88 members  ·  Free

Off Topic

Brokenheart99

I work in healthcare and the other day I had a patient who has pretty end stage disease that can't be cured but only her symptoms can be treated. When I went to talk to her, she was really depressed and just kept saying she wished she could die and that she was tired of fighting and that she had nothing left to hold on to(no kids, no husband, family all passed away etc). I can't cure her obviously but I wish I could comfort her. How do you best respond when someone says they don't have a reason to hold on to and they want to die? I was at such an awkward loss.

Usually I know this kinda stuff but maybe because of my own personal issues at the moment, I just was speechless. What's a good comforting response to that situation?

Yeah that's really true. I think I said something similar. I mean I understand where she's coming from, I can't blame her, her life seems tough. But sometimes these platitude statements sound so fake to me in my head when I say them. I guess I was genuinely sad for her and felt bad and ended up talking to her for a long time, but I wanna make sure i come across genuine to her too. Lately I struggle so much to express myself properly.

Show empathy instead of sympathy and try to show understanding while validating her feelings.

It is hard being in that situation and feeling like you have nothing to live for anymore. It is also hard watching people go through such stages in life, and if it were me in your position I would look at speaking with a professional myself because some of those feelings can be transferred and affect our psyche.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What's a good comforting response to that situation?Usually I know this kinda stuff but maybe because of my own personal issues at the moment, I just was speechless. What's a good comforting response to that situation?