Feelings Unrequited... :'(

Dear all,

I'm new here and know I should properly introduce myself... but, there's something I really need to get off my chest...

I met someone online whom I've fallen for... she's 9-yrs older than me (I am 31-y/o).

I was surprised that she replied my message because women like her usually ignore me. Not that I'm ugly... I think I look ok... just kinda nerdy and introverted. She's attractive, funloving and outgoing.

I'm a Registered Nurse. She's in Marketing and Sales.

I thought we were too different and did not feel anything for her at first.

She sent me a photo of herself wearing glasses and without makeup. I sensed that it was a test because she asked me, "Do you know how old I am?"

Unfortunately, I fell for that side of her - the face with the wrinkles, freckles, the hair that is not styled, the unflattering clothes. She also happens to be a decent person...

She likes someone else... who is not ready for a long-term relationship. They're not together but are meeting once a week.

I was heartbroken to hear that she likes someone else. I did not tell her how I feel.

We have been texting each other, but, I always initiate. It was frustrating for me, so I told her that I will no longer initiate. I try to reason with myself... that maybe she's busy, maybe there are too many people texting her, maybe she is a face-to-face kinda person... at the end of the day, I can't help feeling that she simply doesn't care...

I texted this, "I'm not telepathic... Should I leave you alone? Can't hear your tone of voice, but sensing that you're trying to hint at me to stop. I'm bad at social cues, so forgive me if i'm wrong..."

Her: "Well, we can be friends. No problem with that.

Me: "I'll leave it up to you whether to keep in contact or not... You decide where to meet if you're ok with the idea."

Her: "I'm going away for a while... will catch up when i'm back. I'm ok being friends."