Court again with no expanded visitation and now mediation

ynguns251

Hi all I am officially fed up with the law in the State of IL. I have been dealing with custody issues now for over 8 months and have literally gotten nowhere. I had court today and now we are being sent to a mediator because she refused a settlement agreement stating that " She was breastfeeding " and had to work and that she is a teacher and was only available on April 3rd ( she was off the whole freaking week ). I stated " what about me? I am a Firefighter and have to have a guy cover my shift " but i guess that does not matter to the court system neither did my first request for a DNA test in Sept. which was unconstitutional and I swear if I get screwed over by this judge I am filing an appeal and have him up on review. I basically have nothing until after the mediation and our next court hearing is July 10th and my daughter will turn 1 on the 21st. I pay $846 a month to be alienated from my own daughter and the courts sit back and do nothing. I was advised to talk to other lawyers and see what they think?

• Replies 274
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Courts can force you into mediation because they know you will be co-parenting for the next 18 years and want you to figure out how to get along and come to an agreement.

So they usually will send you back a few times until it is very clear that you will not ever come to an agreement between the two of you, then they'll rule on it.

And it is common for people to try to get out of court appearances. Judges will usually allow a couple postponements, but if she tries it another time the judge could hold her in contempt of court if she continues to refuse to show up.

Most courts also start to lose patience with the 'breastfeeding' excuse after the baby is a year old and on solid foods and milk can be a supplement rather than a primary food source.

If you feel your lawyer isn't representing you correctly, then do get a second opinion.