Ask For Advice

Thread: How do youe put a positive spin on things on college transcripts

RelaxByWater84

How do youe put a positive spin on things on college transcripts

I work at an early learning center and we are getting renewed for accreditation. I worked my way from assistant to lead teacher in my room. My boss needs my college transcripts since my degree is not in education to give accreditation some reason that I should be the lead teacher. I started off in college with education as my major. I took some education courses and failed one of them. I switched my major. I did not know what I wanted to do with my life career-wise. I was put on academic warning twice. I learn things better hands-on than in a classroom, always have. How do I put a positive spin on this? I'm nervous since I could lose this position. I asked if I would have to get some sort of certification and they said we would cross that bridge if we had to. I can't lose my job and insurance. Thanks for reading and responding.

savignon
    I'm not sure how to put a positive spin on a non-passing grade, but I would be upfront and when you hand over your transcript explain that you learned a lot more outside of the classroom than in and that you believe your job performance reflects well on how you deal with and relate to kids in the classroom. Are you required to be certified or have a degree in education? Depending on what the accreditation requirements are, it might be less serious than you think.
    Good luck.

RelaxByWater84
    I know I have a few Psychology courses that might help. I think they are willing to work with me. I'm just a worst case scenario type of person. I'm just nervous since I've finally found something I like and I might lose it.

savignon