Open Club  ·  99 members  ·  Free

Journals

Journey Toward Getting My Love Back

JohnGalt

November 27, 2012

Entry 1:

A month ago my girlfriend left me after two and a half years of being together. The relationship was great in so many ways. Everyone said that we belonged together and that we fit. We both felt that way too. Our first date lasted 8 hours on a Tuesday night - even though we were both busy professionals because we didn't want it to end. We played by the rules and dated for a month before making outselves exclusive and we didn't have sex until we were exclusive. Because we were two desirable people, others tried to undermine our relationship and we promptly cut ties with those who were down for us.

I am an attorney in a large law firm where I work on average 70 hours per week. A few months after we got together, my firm picked up a major case and I was assigned to it. The case ramped my hours up to 100 per week. I was out of town 2 weeks out of the month. My girlfriend helped me through the tough work schedule and would visit me on weekends. She was understanding and strong. Eventually, I took another opportunity - a year long apprenticeship - about 5 hours away from where we lived. For a year and a half, we visited each other every weekend. She took the train; I drove up. We switched weeks for travel. She never once missed a trip.

There have been several deaths in our family that we have had to lean on each other for.