One situation which I have no confident solution for..Should I have come abroad?

So thanks for taking the time to read this. Not posted for this kind of problem before but this is a tricky one.

I was with my boyfriend for 3 years during university. We lived together during the final year. We were amazingly close, best friends, had that spark there right until the very end and very much in love and crazy about each other. After I graduated, I had a job offer in China for a year. I understood that this would put a huge strain on our relationship and he was very much against me coming. This was a once in a lifetime opportunity for me and I thought that if our love was 'true' we would get through it. So I came.

I'm here now and due to go back in July. When I first came here, our relationship got crazy - he was mad jealous, always angry, starting fights etc and I did miss him insanely. So I paid for him to come and visit me. He came and it was a load of crap. I had only been here for 2 weeks and knew near to nothing - none of the language, didn't know where to go/what to do and hadn't even taken the subway ever! Now I have been here 6 months and much more settled. We stayed together, knowing that when I am back we would be brilliant and much more mature and trusting than before. A month or so ago, he broke up with me giving no explanation, which I later found out was a ploy to make me go back. The thing is, I do want to go back. It's pretty rubbish out here, don't like my job and really bad wage. But I'd feel like I was giving up if I returned.