4 years together but nothing in return

chaz1504

Hi im new to this sort of thing so here it goes.

iv been with my boyfriend for just over 4 years im 22 and hes 21 young i know but...... he doesnt want any form of commitment, he wont even admit hes in a long term relationship to himself. he wont get a joint bank account, doesnt want to start saving for a house and the talk of getting engaged, not married just engaged, is out of the question as is kids.

hes my boss at work and at work thats all he is he doesnt acknowledge me as his girlfriend and is quite rude but i do love him i just think he wants something different from me.

i know im only 22 but wev been together for 4 years is it so wrong to want a bit of commitment.

hmm...........

I don't think it's wrong to be wanting a bit of commitment.

But at the same time, commitment doesn't have to mean having a joint back account, saving up money for a house, or getting engaged.

Him being faithful to you (I'm assuming here) is just as committing than what you're asking from him.

Maybe the idea of sharing and being engaged scares him? Like you said, he is only 21.

If you want something more serious than what you have right now, you should tell him.

If he doesn't want the same thing, all you can do is leave him and move forward with your life in the hopes of finding someone that wants the same thing as you do.

Or stay with him if you're willing to wait for him a little longer.

He's 21. Keep that in mind. Yes, its been 4 years, but he's also only 21. He was 17 when you started dating.

Many 21 year old males cannot even process marriage, children, house buying etc.

I can see your frustration, but I just keep thinking "He's 21!"

My husband didn't warm up to the idea of marriage, children, etc till he was hitting 30. And this was after 6+ years together.