I never realized that I was being so self-centered, but I sure was. The key word here is "was". While my boyfriend went back to school, got a good summer job, and is working hard... for US, I have been so stuck inside my own head, thinking about me, me, me. Worrying about MY future, not OUR future. I never put two and two together that I am going to school and building a career for both of us, not just myself.

In a sense, I have just joined this partnership. After a long and teary talk last night, he made me realize that I have been pushing him away and rejecting him. I finally saw that I have just been scared and distrusting of people for so long, that I unconciously lumped him in with those who have treated me badly. He also knows what it's like to grow up with emotionally unavailable parents. Somehow, he figured out how to leave the past in the past, but I am still learning. We had similar upbringings, but he has no past baggage from relationships. The way I was treated by previous boyfriends, including one very abusive boyfriend, has left me pretty scarred. I had thought that I was over it, but it keeps coming back to haunt me.

He is the only person in my life who truly does not keep me at arms' length, and I see this clearly now. He feels no need to protect himself from me, even when he should. I realized that though we have been in a relationship for the past three years, I have not fully committed myself, and I really don't know much about relationships or friendships, because I always see an exit sign in the back of my mind. I am doing my best now to tear that exit sign down, and I have promised him that it is no longer just me and him, it's "us".