Anyone here a waiter? Is it as bad as they say?

I'm a student at university and I have a full load of classes. My goal in life is to become a vet. I volunteer once or twice a month at an assistance dog center and just recently got offered a job at a vet clinic every other Saturday, plus possibly some off hours as needed.

Needless to say, I’m busy (but not overwhelmed, until finals roll around…) but I’m still very strapped for cash. I was hoping the job at the vet clinic would be more hours…..but it looks like I may need a second job to bring in some cash flow.

I was thinking about becoming a waiter. I’ve heard its good money. But is it as bad as they say? I’m assuming I’ll have to give up my Friday and Saturday nights, since those are probably when the restaurants will need someone the most, especially someone who only wants to work one or two nights a week.

Any advice on being a waiter? Is it worth it? Do you really make a lot in tips?

Or, does anyone have any other ideas for super flexible part time student work?

I think it's worth it if you have the personality for it. One of my good friends growing up was a waiter/bartender at a few different places over many years. He made a lot of money. But he also had the personality for it which was obvious.

I don't have it. I doubt I'd make much and I'd be miserable doing it. So I think it depends on whether it's a job that really fits you.

Whoa! $300-400! That would be amazing. Probably wouldn't make that much just starting out, but it's nice to know there's lots of potential!

When you worked what was your night like? What were your hours? 4-11ish?

I was just starting out. It's all in WHERE you do it.