"Breaking Up" in person would be too painful

lisa1126

I am not technically/officially in relationship with this person, but it definitely was more than a friendship. Due to age gap and life stage issues, we also both knew that there is no future in our "relationship". He is quite happy with the level of emotional intimacy, closeness (friendship), and the ego boost he gets from this relationship. I, on the other hand, am not able to handle the hurt and pain of love that can not go anywhere. We have not been physically intimate, although, the sexual attraction is certainly there.

We text all througout the day, talk on the phone several times a day, and meet once a week for several hours. He has a very busy schedule and very disciplined with his life. I want more from him but I can't get more.

I have been thinking about "breaking up" and at a point where I really do want to go through with it.

The question I have is I just don't think I want to bring myself to talk about this in person with him. It will be really hard for both of us.

I have read other posts on this issue, but can anyone vouch for breaking up over email or text? Took considerable amount of time sorting the thoughts and words for the content of the text which is his preferred method of communication.

Your feedback will be greatly appreciated, either way. Thank you.

For over a year now, we go out eat together, gone to the movies, broadway shows, events, picnics, etc. etc.. We talk and text many times throughout the day, he says "I love you", "I need you" "if I was born ****years earlier, I would have married you", "I'd die for you"

For me to go on NC, I would have to give him some kind of explanation. I guess this is what I am referring to as "breaking up", for the lack of better term.

I hope I made it a little more clear.

DN,

Yes, I am sure this relationship can't work.

I can not have children and there is really a significant age difference.