Holidays & division of family time...

bzborow1

Hi guys,

I have a question regarding the holidays and division of family time. My gf and I moved to another city to pursue school/business interests and are returning to the city for the Christmas holidays for the first time. I've been staying at her parents place as opposed to my parents place because their place is much larger and can accommodate us better.

Over the last couple of weeks I've spent seemingly countless hours with her family, including spending at least an entire day helping to prep their Christmas dinner (I am a good cook) with her mother. Now we've been in town 2 weeks now and I've spent nearly all those at her parents place, yet she's only been over to my families twice.

It all came to a head this Saturday. On Friday I set up a dinner with my parents for that Saturday, and she agreed to go. The following Saturday afternoon I spent with her dad as we went to the local dealerships to look at cars (i'm looking). I get back to their place at about 4pm and am going to get ready to go over to my parents when she tells me, "I'm going to dinner with my best friend X". So I was like, " * * * ". But I couldn't say anything because she told me this right in front of her family.

I blew up after the fact as now my family feels severely dissed, I'm extremely pissed off about this, etc. But the worst part is she's been completely unapologetic. "We can do things on our own we're not joined at the hip". My point was that has nothing to do with it, you agreed to come along and you re-negged. Now I'm stuck in the middle with my family being upset and dealing with a spouse of 4 years acting completely me first.

Am I wrong to be pissed about this?

Be careful because this could a sign of how the holidays are going to be if you get married to her...