Careers in academia

dan39

Does anyone have any experience they can share with regard to working in academia? What sort of jobs are available? How easy/hard is it to get into? What sort of personality traits suit an academic career? Is it a good choice?

I'm starting an MSc in October in social research after which I might persue a PhD, although not earning for those three years is a big off put considering I'm 23 already. But once you've completed a PhD, how easy is it to secure an academic career?

Any views greatly welcomed.

I live in the UK by the way, if that makes a difference.

I am an academic in the UK, although in a quite different field to yours (neuroscience), although I have previously been in Humanities (music) and Social Science (psychology) faculties, so I have some experience accross the board.

In terms of how easy/hard it is to into, it depends on the field, and frankly on how good you are. A motivated top quality student interested in becoming an academic, and willing to go where the work is (including abroad if necessary, though it will not always be the case) will always be able to get into the field. On the other hand, an unmotivated poor quality student has no chance whatsoever.

The usual path in is a Master's degree (most commonly MSc or MA), PhD and then Post Doc (Research Fellowship). The challenge is to get funding for these, and the availability of that varies considerably by field (Humanaties is especially difficult on the whole).

While doing your postgrad study, and especially when you become a Post Doc, the emphasis in terms of career must be on one thing: publications. This is, unfortunately (in some ways at least), the academic currency, and there is a very strong correlation between volumne of publication (quantity as much as quality, I'm sorry to say) and job offers.