LinkedIn share
Google plus share
Twitter plus share
Give Advice
Ask For Advice
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: When the wife ignores the husband

When the wife ignores the husband

Married 9 years. Wife is a nurse. I'm a teacher. She prefers to hang out with co-workers, church groups, and the kids to spending time with me. I feel ignored, unappreciated, taken for granted. I'm extremely good to her, maybe too good. Maybe that's the problem?

I've never seriously contemplated cheating on her or divorcing her. But I'm to the point where either of those sounds like valid options to me. Mainly, though, I think I just a pen pal or two in a forum like this. Know what I mean?

Thanx,

Have you talked to her about how you feel? If you have what did dhe say in response?

all the time

Yes DN, I've told her over and over, over many years. This problem seems to come and go. She will treat me great for a while, then mysteriously turn in to this other person who makes me feel one inch tall. We even got counseling for a solid year, all last year. Spent oodles of money with a therapist and here we are back again. I'm spent. Looking at my options. Any suggestions?
    Thanx,

I have the same question as DN. Have you told her about your feelings?

Perhaps your wife doesn't even realize it? Sometimes people feel that when they are married, they don't have to make extra time for their spouse. Of course it's not always right when the other person is hurting.

Maybe you can try to plan at least one evening during the week to make a date night. Whether it's just cuddling on the couch watching tv, or going out to dinner.

maybe, maybe

Hey Maggie, you may be right. I've told her how I feel until I've just become numb. I'm tired of getting her leftovers. I want to be the most important person in her life like she is in mine. I'm not trying to smother her. I'm not jealous either. I just want to feel appreciated. I might try what you advise. Thanx,