"Balancing Act" advice needed

Hello again folks, and I hope all's well.

Well, I've been posting on here for almost 5 months now, and am almost back to my "old self". It's taken a lot of hard work, discipline etc (getting out and about and meeting new people was particularly hard).

I am currently on LC with my ex which is going very well (unlike 5 months ago, I don't burst into tears or have sleepless nights after seeing him). I have also joined a few dating websites.

However, one thing is worrying me slightly:

My ex e-mailed me last night inviting me out to the cinema with him, and he'd also like to go and see a play and go to a music festival with me.

Although we're both on the same dating site at the moment, I still get the impression that he's interested in some form of "re-try": there's a definite connection between us. Of course, action speaks louder than words, and other than inviting me to do things with him he hasn't made any mention of trying again. Also, the fact that he has joined a dating site should be telling me something...

My question is this: should I continue to go out with him as friends while at the same time dating? Is this possible? Or is it an impossible balancing act? We see each other once a week / every two weeks - I definitely feel I'm ready to meet new people, yet at the same time I wouldn't say no to a re-try with my ex.

Am I setting myself up for a disaster? I also don't want to hurt anyone in the process.

Pikey