My Wife Of 5 Years Says She Needs "Down" Time

This is my first posting and I'm not quite sure were to begin. My wife and I are happily married for 6 years. This is a second marriage for both of us. Essentially we were both starting life over again at 40 something. She began a teaching career 6 years and ago and I work as an electrician. She has two boys (21 and 18 years of age) whom I am helping to get through college and for the most part have always gotten along with. They havnt seen their father in almost 17 years since she left Ireland (where they wer born) because of an alcohol related abusive relationship. I too have three children (18,20 and 23) that have not had much to do with me since I was remarryed as my X has and always will have a problem with it. The last two years of our marriage was tough, not rough, just tough as she needed $30,000.00 in dental work and worked and completed her masters degree..another 32 grand! In order to give her the space she needed I kept busy remodeling the house, mainly a new kitchen and bathroom whcih I did entirely myself.