Hi guys,

Realizing a large portion of the highschool posters here are tking the SAT's. I thought I'd ask a question about the GREs (Graduate Record Exam). I'm a senior in college, and i plan on going back for a masters degree within a year or two of graduation. To do that of course, i'll need to take the GREs. Although a few friends have taken them, I don't really know much about them apart from the fact that they are sturctured like the SATs. So to anyone that has taken them i have a few questions:

How difficult are they? I'd assume since they're college level they're much more indepth than the SATs. I'm particularly concerned with the verbal sections as I'm an engineering student and considerably more confident in my math skills.

Also. when is the best time tio take them, while I'm still in school, or afterwards? I ask because this year has turned out to be quite stressful, and i'd like to avoid having one more thing to think about. Are they like the SATs, where you can take them several times and use the best scores?

Thanks in advance for any input.

mtastic

I am just finishing my masters so I still remember what the GRE was like. I would wait till you are out of school to start preparing for it. The math should be cake for you since you are an engineering student. I was a bio-chem undergrad and it was no problem. This does not mean you shouldn't review the math. I had to relearn some simple geometry that I had completely forgotten since high school. Over all I would say that the GRE is not a hard test. The verbal was a bit harder for me. Check out study guides by Petersons, they have a cd-rom that helped me substantially with the verbal part. It is set up like a game show or trivia game so at least it is moderately entertaining.