Dropping/switching a Uni course...easy way out?

I am a 1st year University student and Semester 2 classes started this week.

There is this class though--a philosophy course--that I am not too psyched about. So basically I feel that if I dropped this course to switch to a presumably easier course, I feel that I would be taking the easy way out and I kinda feel bad about it.

This course (the one I'm trying to drop) doesn't really interest me, and I have a hard time understanding it, and it involves (surprise) quizzes, mini-papers to write, an 8-10pg term paper at the end, a midterm, and an exam (of course). Last semester I took a different philosophy course and enjoyed it a lot more--the midterms & exams were take-home, and I could understand what the prof was saying and what we were discussing. Yet today I had practically no idea what we were discussing, and what the prof was saying. He talks kinda fast, but everyone seems into it (in the discussions).

Eventually I would have to take courses with the similar workload so shouldn't I start doing that now,and not drop it? If I keep this course, it would be my hardest one--the one with the most workload, and the one I least understand and am least motivated to do.

I think I'm kinda of answering my own question (I think I'm going to drop it) but is there any way I can feel less bad about it?

Don't feel bad about it. I just finished university - and I had to drop this horrible calculus course because i couldn't understand what was going on lol. Actually I would have done better if I had taken the prereq immediately before but it had been a year and a half since i'd taken the prereq for it.

If you feel you can't do it - or if it will be too difficult it will be better to withdraw from it now and maybe even take it later with a different prof when u are more prepared for the workload. Better to withdraw than to get a failing grade which will affect your gpa.