Any nurses that have felt similar? Or any social workers with advice :)

Thinking about leaving my job in nursing to pursue social work

Hey! I’m a nurse on a busy surgical ward. I’m only nearly a year in about to complete my grad year. I love helping people and I love how social and fast paced my work is, I chose nursing because I’m very passionate about wanting to help people and be there for them in a time of need. I feel terrible saying this but I honestly just feel like a slave most of the time, and I’m starting to resent my job and not enjoy it. Most shifts it’s so hard to even find time for a quick break and so many time’s I won’t get to eat my whole shift. I love helping people but I’m just not sure if ward work is for me.

I’m thinking about going back to uni next year and doing something in social work, it really interests me and I think I would love being able to help people and be there for them and it might be physically better on me? Idk I’m not good with words but if there is anyone that has gone through a similar career change or is in the social work field and could let me know if they love it and why that would be awesome :) thank you

If you were to pursue a graduate nursing/nurse practitioner degree, you could get into psychiatry or another specialty. Social work is another direction rather than building on what you have. Why not research this better if you are getting burned out from bedside nursing.

I’m starting to resent my job and not enjoy it. I’m thinking about going back to uni next year and doing something in social work.

LOL sounds like my life when I have to solo parent or right now during the quarrantine but I don't feel resentful or like a slave -but I get the nonstop cleaning with no break and having to address others' needs constantly. I love what I do though. Social work has its own kind of work like that so it depends what you would do with the degree.