No Longer Attracted To Boyfriend of 4 Years.

BirdsNest

Hi all,

This is my first time posting on this forum, and it is because I have a problem and am wondering what to do. I am 23 years old, and I have been together with my boyfriend for over 4 years now. He is my first real boyfriend and also the first (and only) person I have ever had sex with. I have not felt like I am in love with him for a while now. I love him dearly, but it just misses the entire physical attraction part. Earlier this year I quit my birth control, because I was feeling rather depressed and thought it had something to do with that. Now, about six months later, I am definitely feeling better. I was always quite secluded and shut off from others, something that might have been due to my depression. Now I am doing well in school and work, made new friends who I enjoy spending time with. And lately I have been feeling very unhappy in my relationship, I do not want sex with my boyfriend anymore, and my mind keeps wondering what it would be like to have sex with others. I am becoming very aware of this, and feel like I should act on it and tell my boyfriend I would like a break or would like to end it. I am afraid it will be a mistake, and that it is just a phase. But I am also afraid that I will be unhappy for the rest of my life if I do not act on these feelings.

I have been reading about how quitting birth control can change your attraction to others, and think it has something to do with this. Or maybe it just all faded, and I think of him in a purely friendship type of way now. I feel awful for even considering sleeping with others while in a relationship, and don't really have that many people to talk to about this matter. Hoping you can help me with your own experiences!