My ex and I met online and had a serious relationship for two-and-a-half years. I work as a lawyer in Asia (age 32) and he works as a freelance graphic artist in the US (also age 32). We were surprised to find out we both had the same ethnicities and since meeting, we never stopped talking/video-chatting everyday. This was my first time experiencing a long-distance relationship (LDR) and this was his second, for context.

I know this part may seem sickening to hear... but at the first year of our relationship, we constantly expressed to each other how our connection was like none other. We were both artists and found creative ways to express our affections for each other online. Chemistry was the best I've ever experienced in all my 32 years. Everywhere I went, he was with me. Everyone in my life, he knew. We talked about our dreams, our vulnerabilities, our lives, our pains, everything.

During the span of the relationship, I visited him twice (1 month per year). I got along really well with his family and friends. He and I did new things together, traveled a lot, and even exchanged promise rings. A few months later, just as he was saving up to come visit me, he broke up with me.