Seeking advice about dating apps - guy who lacks confidence for good reason

Seff

So I've been dealing with depression and anxiety for most of my life.

And have been so confused and overwhelmed with what to do with myself.

I've had very little dating experience.

Many "girlfriends" in high school, but for my whole life, I'd say only one real girlfriend.

The past year things have become more clear for me, and I'm doing a lot better, but it's a real uphill battle to get myself where I need to be...

When I was feeling really optimistic a few months back, I wrote up a sincere and well worded dating app bio.

I was honest about my depression, but focused on my good points, my caring nature, and mentioned that I'd be going back to school to pursue my dreams.

So a few ladies have answered me.

But the ones that seem just way too good for me, i.e. they actually have their life together and stuff, I don't end up responding to....

I just don't see how I'd be helpful to them.... or why they'd be interested in me... especially if they're financially successful and the like...

I mean I can feel the depression seeping back in, now that it looks like my plans to go back to school will have to wait till I can afford it...

But another one of these ladies responded to me recently, and instead of saying nothing this time, I thought I would say something to the effect of:

I appreciate you reaching out, but you seem too good for me.

I feel like if I say that, and then focus on her and what we have in common, I'll be being honest, and I'll feel more comfortable, but I don't know...

What do you guys think?

Helpful comments much appreciated.

Hmmm...

If you had many girlfriends in high school, had one serious girlfriend despite struggling with mental health all your life, and girls who you feel are out of your league keep hitting you up on Tinder (or something like it)... I can only conclude that you are one handsome devil :p Much jelly.