I’ve been doing CrossFit for about 6 months now. I had never been active before in my life, not even in HS or college. At 29 years old I joined a local CrossFit gym because it was close to my house, and the folks there were very nice.

During the first three months, the floor was my best friend. It also didn’t help that we were in the literal dog days of summer (90 degrees), and the little garage gym had zero air conditioning. Due to weakness and stiffness in my quads and hip flexors, my patellas were tracking improperly leading to inflammation in the cartilage underneath, and SEVERE knee pain.

After a few months of physical therapy, and special knee braces to keep my patellas on track, I have made incredible progress. I no longer need the braces, my knees don’t hurt anymore, I have significant physical results, and I haven’t laid in the floor in months. I’m now at a point where I finish every workout and I can keep up with the class.

This Sunday we had a really tough workout that kinda murdered me:

200 meter run

30, 27, 24, 21, 18, 15, 12

Bench press @ 65lbs for women

Cals on rower

Devil press

This was a partner WOD so the reps were split, but by the time I got to 15, I could only do 3 reps on the bench without dropping the bar on my chest. Because I couldn’t really bench, my partner gave me more devil press to do which didn’t hurt as bad but was still hard.

After the workout, my chest, arms and the front of my shoulders were crazy sore. Sore like my first day at CrossFit this past spring when I thought I was going to die. I drank tons of water and ate and drank protein and didn’t work out yesterday.

Today I wanted to go back, but of course we’re benching again, doing skull crushers and battle ropes. I’m far less sore than Sunday or Monday, but I’m still pretty sore particularly on the fronts of my shoulders.