Day 2 NC and it sucks!!

Hi all,

Posting here as I'm still teary from the break up and trying not to break NC or drive my self crazy asking "Why?"

So, since last November I have been dating a wonderful man. Things went well, if a bit too speedily. I had a wobble in the spring and asked for more space because it was going to quickly! But we were able to discuss our needs in a caring and respectful way, and work on things. I had issues "falling in love" myself, mostly because of past hurts and just being a bit silly, really. I worked through that tho and came to really love him.

I went away for 3 months to work for the summer (I'm a grad student, he's working).I returned to my college town nearly three weeks ago.

My bf had been freaking out a little bit before I returned home--basically scared we were going to rush stuff.

I respected his request, we met up several times and everything was good. I respected his need for space, and we still had great chats and laughs.

His birthday was Monday and he spent the night at mine. We talked about stuff, kissed, cuddled, had a great time. We hung out all day Friday too, which was lovely. When we were in bed I said "I love you" (NB, we had the "I love you" conversation in March, he said it first).

This prompted a massive emotional freak-out on his part. We spoke on Saturday and he was going nuts, asking for space to think about things, saying he was in terrible turmoil. I asked if we could speak about things on Sunday afternoon. He agreed and we met up.

He broke up with me saying "I can't do this anymore, we are perfect for each other in so many ways, we connect incredibly well on so many levels but I just don't love you." He went on and on and on, crying, holding me, calling me 'sweetie' and 'darling," etc. I argued with him (of course!) and was crying too. He said "we're like puzzle pieces that nearly fit but not quite so I guess you are not my one. If we've both had doubts then this can't be right."