I need to stop pushing my boyfriend away..help

imcrazyhelpme

I am a freshman in college and have recently met and started dating this boy..he is seriously the best boyfriend I have ever had. He is super sweet and supportive..I feel very safe and happy with him. My friends and family think hes great..basically I’m just trying to say he is a wonderful guy and I honestly love him.

I am pushing him away, and I have been for a while now. It has obviously always been a problem but now it is getting to the point where my boyfriend needs me to change my behavior or he cannot be with me anymore. I have never been in such an “adult” relationship..and I honestly would love to be with him for a long time. I know that he would also like to be with me for a long time but he just can’t because I have pushed him away too much.

How I push him away is I get really angry and irrational with him for no reason. I will twist his words around so I can be angry and I hate it. I will try to make it seem like he is saying things about other girls or other things that make me insecure. I yell at him and I just cant do it anymore. I am terrified of having to get over him and I really want to make a change so we can be happy together. I’m not sure what to do because when I am being crazy and mad for no reason I know in the back of my head that I am being ridiculous. I know that he loves me but I feel like during my angry outbursts I think he doesnt love me or want me. Ultimately I believe that this issue is a result of me being insecure and also I have anxiety and depression so I think that is a big part of it.

I’ve identified my issue and possible causes so I dont really know what advice someone can give me but I would really appreciate anything at all from reassurance to just relating to my problem..