Discrimination against introverts in the workplace

Do you think introverts are discriminated against in the workplace, both in terms of interviews and in terms of on the job discrimnation? At my workplace, not at all, but that is because my profession is dominated by introverts, but I do think there is discrimination against introverts overall in the workplace.

What are your thoughts?

Woaa...PRetty deep for a late afternoon conversation!

Define what you consider an introvert.

My gut reaction is no - how exactly do you discriminate agains an introvert?

Yeah I like to make people think

Introvert: One who draws energy from themselves vs drawing energy from others. Usually, quieter, less social. Does not mean shy and does not mean socially unskilled.

I say yes to this. To give one example, if you don't go to holiday parties or group lunch gatherings, it's frowned upon in most company atmospheres (ie, "you are not a team player" or some such BS) .

Yeah I like to make people think

Introvert: One who draws energy from themselves vs drawing energy from others. Usually, quieter, less social. Does not mean shy and does not mean socially unskilled.

I say yes to this. To give one example, if you don't go to holiday parties or group lunch gatherings, it's frowned upon in most company atmospheres (ie, "you are not a team player" or some such BS) .

I agree with your definition of introverts, and unfortunately I would agree that they can be misunderstood and possibly discriminated against at work as well as other environments.

I don't need other people and by your definition, I myself am an introvert. So with that said....