Match.com & Online Status

Traveler27

I've been using link removed for a few months now, and have recently been seeing someone I met on there. I just logged onto link removed, but under a friend's username & password because I don't want this person to see me online.

When I looked up my own profile under my friend's account, it showed that I have been active "within 1 hour"!! * * * ?!? I haven't logged on in almost a week. Does anyone else use Match and know anything about online status? How could it say I was active within 1 hour when I haven't even logged on?

I wonder if they mess with it because you're female and it's good for business.

Yeah, I guess it looks better when there are more active members online, but that would be unbelievable! I'd be so mad if that were the case....well I already am actually. I purposely didn't log on because I didn't want this person (if he is logged on) to think I was still "going on there" while we were dating. I usually make it a rule to not log on if I have been out on several dates with someone, and things are going considerably well.

some browsers ask to remember your ID and passwords. Firefox is famous for this. i think there are some settings on some browsers to auto-log you in to some sites. it's 'cached' if you will.

try this OP....get on your computer where you saw this occur. go to link removed and just go browse or do something normally. then try going to your profile without logging in, even without logging in under another account and see what it says. if my thinking is right, there might be a link to 'view my profile' or something to that affect that when you haven't even logged in. that would tell me the browser is auto-logging you in.

some browsers ask to remember your ID and passwords. Firefox is famous for this. i think there are some settings on some browsers to auto-log you in to some sites. it's 'cached' if you will.