Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why do I keep getting sick?

Gold Member

Why do I keep getting sick?

Well, lately I seem to be getting sick about once every two months. It's usually just a little cold that last maybe a week (one of them lasted nearly two), but it's very annoying to keep getting sick.

I just moved to a new city about six months ago, whereupon this new trend started (and, it is my first time living in a city, although I used to commute into one), but the same applies to my roommates, and they aren't having this problem. I also eat substantially healthier than either of my roommates, and still I'm the one who gets sick.

I ballroom dance frequently, and I'm generally associating with more people than my roommates, so I guess that might be the cause. But I wash my hands frequently--so frequently that my hands are always dried out and cracking (even with lotion). I also have the busiest schedule by far--can being too busy make you sick?

So, what's going on? I remember a couple of years ago, I actually went two full years without ever getting sick. Am I just playing catch-up now? Still, is there anything I can do?

I take a multivitamin daily, and often Vitamin C and Echinacea. And at the first sign I start taking Airborne twice daily. Is there anything else I can or should be doing?

how much do you sleep, do you eat 5 servings of fruits and veggies a day? do you wash your hands frequently? these are all things than can affect your immune system.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1.

Are you getting enough sleep?

Is your life particularly stressful right now?

Do you work odd hours?

Yes- being very busy and overworking can run down your immune system.
    Mama to a beautiful baby girl born 6-25-09. :) AND a beautiful baby boy born 6-14-11. :)

Baby # 2 forever missed lost 6-3-10.

"An angel in the book of life wrote down my baby's birth.
    Then whispered as she closed the book "too beautiful for earth".
    ~author unknown